Widewell Primary Academy became part of the Horizon Multi Academy Trust on 1 September 2016.

Horizon Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee and is an exempt charity. 

Horizon Multi Academy Trust is registered at Companies House [Registration no. 08084557]

The Horizon Multi Academy Trust Board is accountable in law for all decisions about its academies. 

However, the Trust Board have agreed within their Scheme of Delegation that many decisions can and should be delegated to the local governing bodies.


The Governing Body of the school is made up of people from a variety of backgrounds. The school governors are a group of individuals, who are elected, nominated or co-opted and are representatives of parents and staff, and the local community. School Governors work with the Headteacher and are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the school.

Our purpose as a governing body is to support & improve the school through our involvement, providing supportive, active & critical voice to ensure that the school achieves its maximum potential and every pupil achieves.

The three key functions for the Governing Body are:

  • To ensure that the vision, ethos & strategic direction of the school are clearly            defined;
  • To ensure that the Headteacher performs her responsibilities for the                    educational performance of the school;
  • To ensure the sound, proper & effective use of the school’s financial resources.
The Governing Body adopts an executive responsibility approach to its functionality & reports through Governor meetings held six times a year. Where committees are required, the chair of those committees is listed below:                                       
  •    Head Teacher Performance Review Committee - James Day

You can contact the Chair by emailing


Chair of Governors:            

Mr James Day


Vice Chair of Governors:  


Mr Robert Hunter


Headteacher (Ex-officio):    

Mrs Victoria Broughton


Staff Governors:   


Miss Victoria Williams

Mrs Emma Dunne


Academy Governors:   




Mrs Sue King

Mr Robert Hunter

Mr David Furze



Parent governors:

Mr James Day



 Co-opted governor:  Mr Matthew Cocking
The Company Secretary and Clerk to governors is:  Mrs Kim Hall

Governors who have left the

board in the last 12 months


 Michaela Kerr

 Scott Kerrison



The Governors have responsibility for the following roles:


Safeguarding: David Furze

Head Teachers Performance Management: James Day and David Furze

Pupil Premium, Sports Premium, Catch Up Funding: James Day, Matthew Cocking

English: David Furze

Maths: Robert Hunter

SEN: Sue King

Early Years: James Day

Curriculum: Sue King and Scott Kerrison