Widewell Primary Academy became part of the Horizon Multi Academy Trust on 1 September 2016.

Horizon Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee and is an exempt charity. 

Horizon Multi Academy Trust is registered at Companies House [Registration no. 08084557]

The Horizon Multi Academy Trust Board is accountable in law for all decisions about its academies. 

However, the Trust Board have agreed within their Scheme of Delegation that many decisions can and should be delegated to the local governing bodies.


The Governing Body of the school is made up of people from a variety of backgrounds. The school governors are a group of individuals, who are elected, nominated or co-opted and are representatives of parents and staff, and the local community. School Governors work with the Headteacher and are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the school.

Our purpose as a governing body is to support & improve the school through our involvement, providing supportive, active & critical voice to ensure that the school achieves its maximum potential and every pupil achieves.

  The three key functions for the Governing Body are:

  • To ensure that the vision, ethos & strategic direction of the school are clearly            defined;
  • To ensure that the Headteacher performs her responsibilities for the                    educational performance of the school;
  • To ensure the sound, proper & effective use of the school’s financial resources.
The Governing Body adopts an executive responsibility approach to its functionality & reports through Governor meetings held six times a year. Where committees are required, the chair of those committees is listed below:
  •          Review Committee -                                        Mr. Allan Evans
  •          Head Teacher Performance Review Committee - Mrs Jackie Carter

You can contact the Chair by emailing


Chair of Governors:            

MAllan Evans


Vice Chair of Governors:  

Mrs Jackie Carter


Headteacher (Ex-officio):    

Mrs Claire Prynne


Staff Governors:   


Mrs Beverley Holder

Miss Vicki Williams


Academy Governors:   


Mrs Jackie Carter

Mr Scott Kerrison

Mr David Worrall

Mr Allan Evans

Mr Matt Maclean

Mrs Sue King

Mr Robert Hunter

Parent governors:

Mr James Day

Mrs Michaela Kerr


 The Company Secretary and Clerk to governors is:  Mrs. Laura Faith

 Governors who have left the

board in the last 12 months

Mrs. Georgina El Morshdy